Committees 

 

Administrative Operations 

The committee plans classes on topics related to areas such as administration, finance, insurance, leadership, workers compensation, human resources, and management.

Chair

Shane Wegner

Midlands Contracting, Inc.

shane@midlandscontracting.com


Annual Conference

The committee plans the Annual Conference, which includes Projects Preview where utility contractors learn about upcoming projects for bid; exhibits to showcase the latest products and services that your business offers to utility contractors; education sessions; annual meeting; keynote speaker and entertainment. 

Chair

Brian Egr

General Excavating

begr@generalexcavating.com

 

Clay Shoot Challenge 

The committee plans the Clay Shoot Challenge. This event brings together about 80 people for a day of camaraderie and networking. 

Chair

Tom King

Gene Lilly Surety Bonds, Inc.

tom@glsbinc.com


Field Operations 

The committee plans classes on topics related to safety, regulations and compliance.  

Chair

Lonnie Shoup

Horizontal Boring & Tunneling Co.

lonnies@hbttrenchless.com


Golf Tournament 

The committee plans the Golf Tournament. This event brings together 125-150 people for a day of golf, camaraderie and networking. 

Chair

Tom Cockle

UNICO Group, Inc.

tcockle@unicogroup.com


Industry and Government Relations

The committee plans Projects Preview, works with NUCA of Nebraska’s lobbying firm to monitor state legislative and regulatory issues impacting the industry, lobbies Nebraska’s delegation in Congress on federal issues impacting infrastructure; and oversees advocacy activities. 

Chair

Kara Habrock

L.G. Roloff Construction

karah@roloffinc.com

Membership 

The committee oversees membership recruitment and retention.  

Chair

Ben Searcey

Lincoln Winwater Works

basearcey@winwaterworks.com


Nominating

The committee helps identify and recruit board candidates.

Chair

Derek Bookstrom

H.R. Bookstrom Construction

derek@hrbookstrom.com

 One Call

The committee is working on a campaign to educate NUCA of Nebraska members on calling in non-responses and not marking lines to the One Call system; review the state statutes and educates NUCA of Nebraska members on everyone's responsibilities; and generates best in class practices and policies for NUCA of Nebraska members to use for documentation and disputing claims, damages and unmarked and mismarked lines.

Chairs

Amy Skalka

Van Kirk Brothers Construction

amys@vkbros.net

Jesse Walz

L. G. Roloff Construction

jessew@roloffinc.com

B.J. Woehler

Robert Woehler & Son Construction, Inc.

b_j_woehler@hotmail.com

Workforce Development

The committee identifies opportunities and activities to help expand the pool of qualified labor, in order to assist NUCA of Nebraska member contractor companies in attracting and retaining employees. Participate in hands-on stations with high school students at Construction Career Days at six community colleges around the state, where you’ll have an opportunity to educate them about the work that you do and why you chose a career in the utility construction industry. Give a presentation to students in the classroom. Offer job shadowing at a job site. Offer a co-op, provide financial contribution or lease equipment for the Central Community College Heavy Equipment Operator Program.

Chair

Ron Fleming
L.G. Roloff Construction
ronf@roloffinc.com